IPP&T Magazine Online

DINO Award for additive manufacturing expertise presented to four individuals

May 20, 2021   Don Horne

The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) has presented its prestigious DINO (Distinguished INnovator Operator) Award for additive manufacturing expertise and service to four individuals.

The awards were presented at the 32nd annual users group conference held in Orlando, Fla.

AMUG representatives presented the DINO Awards in recognition of tenure in the additive manufacturing industry, years of service, contributions to the industry, and active support of the users group.

“This award recognizes not only experience but also character and passion. Following a lengthy nomination and review process, the committee selected four deserving individuals from dozens of qualified candidates,” said Gary Rabinovitz, AMUG chairperson and DINO Selection Committee chair.


The newly named DINOs are:

  • Shane Collins, ASTM International;
  • Giles Gaskell, Hexagon;
  • Ana Neves, RAMCO; and
  • Robin Van Bragt, Eagle Design and Technology Inc.

“There were many candidates that had the tenure required for this coveted award. However, that is just one criterion. To be a DINO, one must also give back to the industry and support AMUG. These four individuals rose above all others because of their actions and achievements,” said Carl Dekker, AMUG president.

The DINO Award recognizes those that have contributed to the additive manufacturing industry with the intent to advance the industry as a whole or to advance the skills and knowledge of individuals. At the heart of this award is a passion for and dedication to additive manufacturing that is coupled with a desire to share and to be accessible to others.

The new DINOs’ efforts behind the scenes and in public forums have advanced the technology and the applications that leverage its capabilities. Through direct contributions of time and energy, all have played a role in making the AMUG Conference a positive experience for those seeking insights and information.

Dekker added, “AMUG’s tenet is ‘For Users, By Users,’ and its success comes from a community where individuals share their experiences to help one another. Our four DINOs have actively participated in the sharing and have volunteered for activities that build the foundation of the community and the AMUG Conference experience.”

Over its 33-year history, AMUG has awarded only 174 DINOs. Although there are many deserving of the recognition, AMUG limits this prestigious award to no more than ten individuals each year. Nominations for 2022 DINO candidates will be accepted beginning October 1.

Print this page

Related Stories